Gilded Throne

Standard

I learned to hide all of my beauty

Anything beautiful

The beautiful words that came from my mouth

The beautiful flowers that

Sprang from my touch

The beautiful way I moved

And sang

And loved

My beautiful locks of curly hair

So disgraceful to those around me

Sewed my lips shut

And tore my dress

Liked me better hushed and messed

Sitting behind the crooked door

There they said they liked me more

Out of sight and out of mind

I learned to hide my beauty

For fear of hurting others

Sword sharp words cut me

My own blood to slip

Upon

Laughter, mocking

Clumsy girl

Ugly nest of knotted curls 

Not so beautiful now

And how they sit proud on me 

as i lie prone

Me their clay formed

Gilded throne 

Leave a Reply

