She Asks For Nothing

Standard

She asks how you are doing.

You have a short 

Conversation,

The whole time

Her heart screaming inside her

Chest,

“I am so lonely.

So goddamn lonely.”

Her brain holding the dam straight and strong against

The welling of tears.

And she laughs.

She hugs you

A little longer than you feel comfortable so

You let go

And 

“Let’s catch up soon”

And she glances to the ocean.

The ocean who is always calling.

And she thinks how much she longs to go to her.

“The ocean will hold me as long as I need

And stroke my tangled hair.”

She asks for nothing

In return.

“And i do not need to speak.

I walk on to where i need to go

Leaving the ocean for

Now.

She waits for my return.”

Her heart beating morse code,

Begging,

Wait for me. Wait for me.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

