Someone

Standard

Someone told me
The people who did these things to me are not here anymore.
They can no longer hurt me.
Why this did not occur to me before,
I do not know.
Maybe because i still hear their
Voices.
Maybe because every sense and nerve in me reacts to
Certain noises and movements as if those people are still in the same room with me;
I feel the ghost of their touch.
I am ready to let them go now;

To see them, to feel them fade
Away into nothingness.
They can no longer keep
Their
Invisible grip
Because you cannot
Imprison
Peace.
You cannot hold love captive.
I am no longer fear,
I am love
And love is free.

Leave a Reply

