Scars

Standard

You see me standing tall.
You see me now,
Today.
But you have just arrived
On my journey.
You did not see my path
To this destination
Where I stand at this moment.

There were many I had to leave
Along the way.
The ones I believed
Loved me.
Many I have forgotten
But
Few stay within my heart
Where I will hold them
Safe

Forever.

So you look at me standing tall
But
You make assumptions
Dear.
You were not here in the dark
Days
When upon my hands and knees I did

Crawl.

You have not laid your
Heart eyes upon my
Wounds.
Some minuscule.
Some as deep as canyons. I myself have yet to know their true depths.
The ones,
The scars that drug me here

To this place where I stand tall.

Leave a Reply

